Terms of Use

Access to and use of this website are subject to the following conditions. Please do not use this website unless you agree with these conditions.

This website has been developed by and is administered by Adapt Pharma Canada Ltd (“Adapt Pharma”). We reserve the right to discontinue or to make partial or complete modifications to this website. Please note that we may make such changes at our own discretion and without prior announcement. We encourage you to visit frequently to stay informed about these terms of use.

Regulations for product use are established by country. Information contained on this website pertains only to Canada, and is not intended to provide adequate information for product use. Before using any product, read and carefully observe the label directions.

TRADEMARKS AND COPYRIGHTS

All details, documents and illustrations published on this website are the sole property of Adapt Pharma, Inc.. Any permission to use the same is granted on the provision that the relevant copyright note is displayed on all copies, that such details are only used for personal purposes, that they are not exploited commercially, that the details are not modified in any way and that all illustrations gained from the website are only used in conjunction with the accompanying text.

All material found on this web site (“Information”) is protected under the copyright laws of Canada and of other countries. Certain names, words, titles, phrases, logos, icons, graphics or designs in the pages of this website may constitute trade names, trademarks or service marks of Adapt Pharma, Inc. its subsidiaries, affiliates, licensors or joint venture partners or the use of which may have been licensed to them. Any unauthorized use or abuse of these materials including copyright, trade names, trademarks or service marks posted on this website, may violate federal, common or civil law trademark law and copyright law, and may result in legal action. Unauthorized use shall include without limitation, use in connection with any product or service that is not related to Adapt Pharma or Adapt Pharma, Inc., in any manner that is likely to cause confusion among customers, or in any manner that disparages or discredits Adapt Pharma and or any of its affiliated entities or the owner of the mark.

The trademarks, logos and service mark (collectively, the "Trademarks") displayed on this website are registered and unregistered trademarks owned or licensed by Adapt Pharma. In particular, NARCAN is a registered trademark licensed to ADAPT Pharma Operations Limited. Nothing on this website should be construed as granting, by implication or otherwise, any license or right in or to the Trademarks without the express written permission of Adapt Pharma or such third party. In addition, any reproduction, retransmission or use of this website's contents for other than personal, non-commercial purposes requires the prior written consent of Adapt Pharma.

The following copyright notice must appear on every copy of the contents of this site or a portion thereof: "Copyright © 2017 Adapt Pharma, Inc. 100 Matsonford Road, Building 4, Suite 201, Radnor, PA 19087. All rights reserved".

Permission to use the Information is granted, provided that (1) the above copyright notice appears on all copies; (2) use of the Information is for informational and non-commercial or personal use only; (3) the Information is not modified in any way; and (4) no graphics available from this Internet site are used separate from accompanying text.

EXCLUSION OF LIABILITY

Your use of this Site is at your own risk and in no event will Adapt Pharma or its officers, directors or employees, suppliers or contributors to this site be liable for any damages, including without limitation, direct or indirect, special, punitive, exemplary, incidental, moral or consequential damages, loss of profits, opportunities or information, damages for business interruption or loss of programs or other data on your information handling system or for other expenses arising out of or in connection with the website, with any software algorithms available thereon or with any hyperlinked web site or for use thereof or inability to use by interruption, defect, delay in operation or transmission, computer virus, worms, Trojan horses or other items of a destructive nature or line or system failure, even if Adapt Phama is advised of the possibility of such damages, losses or expenses. Software algorithms made available and hyperlinks to other internet resources are at your own risk; the content, accuracy, opinions expressed, and other links provided by these software algorithms and resources are not investigated, verified, monitored, or endorsed by Adapt Pharma. FOR GREATER CERTAINTY, THIS EXCLUSION OF LIABILITY APPLIES TO ANY AND ALL NEGLIGENCE OF ADAPT PHARMA OR ANY OF ITS DIRECTORS, OFFICERS OR EMPLOYEES OR OF ANY SUPPLIER OR CONTRIBUTOR TO THIS SITE.

Adapt Pharma tries to ensure that all information is as complete and accurate as reasonably possible at the time of its posting on the Web site. Adapt Pharma does not, however, give any warranty whatsoever with respect to such material. Specifically, Adapt Pharma gives no warranty including as to the accuracy, timeliness, completeness, merchantability or fitness for any particular purpose, or non-infringement of an intellectual property right with respect to any information, graphics and/or other material available through the website and disclaims any liability for failure to update the website for errors or omissions in the content of the site. Some jurisdictions do not allow the exclusion of implied warranties, so the above exclusion may not apply to you.

Information on the website may contain technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Information may be changed or updated without notice. Adapt Pharma may also make improvements and/or changes in the services and/or the programs described in this information at any time without notice.

You agree to indemnify, contribute to and hold harmless Adapt Pharma, its subsidiaries, affiliates, contractors, agents, officers, directors and/or employees, against any liability, be it civil, criminal or quasi-criminal, resulting from your use of the website REGARDLESS OF WHETHER NEGLIGENCE OF ADAPT PHARMA, ITS SUBSIDIARIES, AFFILIATES, CONTRACTORS, AGENTS, OFFICERS, DIRECTORS AND/OR EMPLOYEES, MAY HAVE CAUSED OR CONTRIBUTED THERETO. You shall be responsible to the full extent of any liability, payment or other agreement made by Adapt Pharm, its subsidiaries, affiliates, contractors, agents, officers, directors and/or employees, in settlement and/or satisfaction of any claim or potential claim, whether such payment or agreement is made or concluded prior to or following the institution of formal proceedings against Adapt Pharma, its subsidiaries, affiliates, contractors, agents, officers, directors and/or employees.

LINKS TO OTHER SITES

The website contains links to facilitate your access to third party sites. Adapt Pharma does not control any third party site and is not responsible for the contents of any linked site or any link contained in a linked site. Adapt Pharma is providing such link to you only as a convenience and the inclusion of any link does not imply endorsement, investigation or verification by Adapt Pharma of the linked site or information contained therein.

INTERNATIONAL USERS

This website is exclusively intended for use in Canada. Adapt Pharma gives no guarantee that the details presented on this website are also correct in places outside Canada, and, in particular, that products and services will be available with the same appearance, in the same sizes or on the same conditions. Should you call up this website from a place outside Canada or download contents from such a place, please note that it is your own responsibility to ensure that you act in compliance with local legislation applicable in that place.

Products mentioned on this website may come in different packaging, in different package sizes, or with different lettering or markings, depending on the country.

APPLICABLE LAW

The laws of the Province of Ontario will govern these disclaimers, terms, and conditions, without giving effect to any principles of conflicts of laws. We reserve the right to make changes to our site and these disclaimers, terms, and conditions at any time.

Serious Warnings and Precautions

  • Before administering NARCAN™ Nasal Spray, call 911 for emergency medical help. Do this immediately if you suspect or are aware of an opioid overdose.
  • Make sure to watch the person who received NARCAN™ Nasal Spray. You may need to give additional doses of NARCAN™ Nasal Spray until emergency medical help arrives.
  • You may need to help the person who received NARCAN™ Nasal Spray. The patient may have a reaction such as becoming aggressive, shaking and/or vomiting. You will need to pay special attention when giving NARCAN™ Nasal Spray to a newborn who is less than four weeks old or a pregnant woman. Some of these reactions can be life-threatening for a newborn or a fetus.

Indications and Clinical Use

NARCAN™ Nasal Spray is a pure opioid antagonist indicated for emergency use outside of a hospital to reverse known or suspected opioid overdose, as manifested by respiratory and/or severe central nervous system depression.

NARCAN™ Nasal Spray can be administered by a bystander (non-healthcare professional) before emergency medical assistance becomes available, but it is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical care. Emergency medical assistance (calling 911) should be requested immediately when an opioid overdose is suspected, before administering naloxone.

Contraindications

  • Patients who are hypersensitive to this drug or to any ingredient in the formulation or component of the container.

Most Serious Warnings & Precautions

  • Emergency medical assistance (calling 911) should be requested immediately when an opioid overdose is suspected, before using naloxone.
  • Individuals with a satisfactory response to an initial dose of naloxone should be kept under continued surveillance.
  • Caregivers administering naloxone should be prepared to act in response to or assist the patient in cases of potential adverse reactions such as aggressive reactions, convulsions and vomiting. Special attention is warranted if naloxone is administered to a neonate or a pregnant woman.

Other Relevant Warnings and Precautions

  • In opioid dependent people, naloxone may trigger an acute opioid withdrawal syndrome
  • Rebound opioid toxicity, including respiratory depression, following the temporary reversal of the opioid overdose
  • Not effective against respiratory depression due to non-opioid drugs
  • Rare cases of cardiac arrest, tachycardia and ventricular fibrillation
  • Post-operative consideration: instances of hypotension, hypertension, ventricular tachycardia and fibrillation, dyspnea, pulmonary edema and rare cases of cardiac arrest have been reported. Death, coma, and encephalopathy have been reported as sequelae of these events
  • Rare cases of convulsions or seizures
  • Irritability and aggressive behaviour
  • Gastrointestinal reactions including diarrhea, nausea, vomiting and abdominal cramps
  • Use in nursing women has not been established

For More Information:

Please consult the product monograph at http://narcannasalspray.ca/pdf/NARCAN-Product-Monograph-ca-en.pdf for important information relating to contraindications, adverse reactions, drug interactions, patient selection, and dosing information which have not been discussed in this piece.

The product monograph is also available by calling 1-844-898-0657.

Please see full Product Information including the Patient Information for NARCAN™ Nasal Spray.

Adapt Pharma Logo

References

1 World Health Organization. “Management of Substance Abuse: Information sheet on opioid overdose.” November 2014. http://www.who.int/substance_abuse/information-sheet/en/ Accessed March 1, 2017.

2 Ontario College of Pharmacists. “Dispensing or Selling Naloxone: Guidance for pharmacy professionals when dispensing or selling naloxone as a Schedule II drug.” February 9, 2017. http://www.ocpinfo.com/library/practice-related/download/Naloxone.pdf Accessed March 1, 2017.

3 NARCAN™ Nasal Spray Product Monograph. Adapt Pharma Operations Limited, March 24, 2017.

4 Howlett, K et al. “How Canada got addicted to fentanyl.” Globe and Mail, January 5, 2017. http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/investigations/a-killer-high-how-canada-got-addicted-tofentanyl/article29570025/ Accessed January 10, 2017.

5 National Institutes of Health, PubChem Open Chemistry Database, Carfentanil, Available at: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/carfentanil#section=Top Accessed on January 20, 2017.

6 Harm Reduction Coalition. “Overdose FAQs.” http://harmreduction.org/issues/overdose-prevention/overview/overdose-faqs/ Accessed January 11, 2017.

7 Government of Canada. “Opioids.” http://healthycanadians.gc.ca/healthy-living-vie-saine/substance-abus…icomanie/prescription-abuse-abus-ordonnance/opiods-opiodes-eng.php#a2 Accessed Jan 9, 2017.

8 Government of Canada. “Opioids.” Available at: https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/substance-abuse/prescription-drug-abuse/opioids.html Accessed January 25, 2017.

Distributed by Adapt Pharma Canada Ltd. Mississauga, ON L5N 6A6 CANADA

© 2017 ADAPT Pharma Canada Ltd. NARCAN is a trademark licensed to ADAPT Pharma Operations Limited.

*All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

You are about to leave narcannasalspray.ca.

Click “continue” to visit Narcan.com or “go back” to return to narcannasalspray.ca

Go Back Continue

Please read the Indications and Important Safety Information below before continuing to the external site

You are now leaving Narcan.com

The link you clicked on will take you to a site maintained by a third party, which is solely responsible for its content. Adapt Pharma, Inc. does not control, influence, or endorse this site, and the opinions, claims, or comments expressed on this site should not be attributed to Adapt Pharma, Inc. Adapt Pharma, Inc. is not responsible for the privacy policy of any third-party websites.

Click "Return" go back to Narcan.com or "Continue" to proceed.




Return Continue

CONDITIONS D’UTILISATION

L’accès à ce site Web et son utilisation sont assujettis aux conditions suivantes. Veuillez ne pas utiliser ce site Web si vous n’en acceptez pas les conditions.

Le site a été élaboré et est géré par Emergent BioSolutions Canada Ltd (« Emergent »). Nous nous réservons le droit de retirer ce site Web ou de le modifier, partiellement ou entièrement. Veuillez noter que nous pourrions effectuer de tels changements à notre entière discrétion et sans préavis. Nous vous encourageons à consulter fréquemment notre site Web afin de demeurer au fait des présentes conditions d’utilisation.

La réglementation concernant l’utilisation des produits est établie par chaque pays. L’information comprise dans ce site s’applique uniquement au Canada et ne vise pas à fournir des renseignements pertinents sur l’utilisation des produits. Avant d’utiliser tout produit, lisez et respectez à la lettre le mode d’emploi sur l’étiquette.

MARQUES DE COMMERCE ET DROITS D’AUTEUR

Tous les détails, documents et illustrations publiés sur ce site Web sont la propriété exclusive d’Emergent et/ou ses filiales.   Toute autorisation d’utilisation desdits éléments est accordée à condition que la mention de droit d’auteur pertinente apparaisse sur toutes les copies, que lesdits détails soient utilisés uniquement à des fins personnelles et non exploités dans un but commercial, que ces détails ne soient aucunement modifiés, et que toutes les illustrations obtenues du site Web soient utilisées conjointement avec le texte qui les accompagne.

Tous les éléments que contient ce site Web (« renseignements ») sont protégés par les lois sur les droits d’auteur du Canada et d’autres pays. Certains noms, termes, titres, logos, icônes, éléments graphiques, dessins et certaines phrases figurant dans les pages du présent site Web peuvent constituer des noms commerciaux, des marques de commerce ou des marques de service d’Emergent de ses sociétés affiliées, des entités de son groupe, de ses concédants ou de ses co-entrepreneurs, ou peuvent être utilisés par ceux-ci en vertu d’une licence. Toute utilisation non autorisée ou tout usage inapproprié de ces renseignements, notamment les droits d’auteur, noms commerciaux, marques de commerce ou marques de service affichés sur ce site Web, peut constituer une violation du droit des marques ou du droit d’auteur fédéral, civil ou en common law et donner lieu à des poursuites. Par utilisation non autorisée, on entend notamment l’utilisation en rapport avec tout produit ou service non lié à Emergent ou à ses sociétés affiliées, de toute manière susceptible de susciter de la confusion chez les consommateurs ou qui dénigre ou discrédite Emergent et/ou toute entité de son groupe ou le propriétaire de la marque.

Les marques de commerce, logos et marques de service (ci-après désignés collectivement par « marques ») affichés sur le présent site Web sont des marques déposées ou non dont Emergent, ses sociétés affiliées ou filiales est propriétaire ou qu’elle utilise sous licence.  En particulier, NARCAN est une marque déposée utilisée sous licence par ADAPT Pharma Operations Limited, une filiale. Aucun élément ou contenu du présent site Web ne doit être interprété comme conférant, implicitement ou autrement, une quelconque licence ou un quelconque droit relatif aux marques sans l’autorisation écrite expresse d’Emergent ou du tiers concerné. Par ailleurs, toute reproduction, retransmission ou utilisation du contenu de ce site Web à des fins autres que personnelles et non commerciales requiert l’obtention préalable de l’autorisation écrite d’Emergent.

La mention de droit d’auteur suivante doit paraître sur chaque copie du contenu de ce site ou de toute portion de celui-ci : « Copyright © 2021 Emergent BioSolutions Canada Inc. Mississauga, ON L5N 6M1. Tous droits réservés ».

L’autorisation d’utiliser les renseignements sera accordée à condition que 1) la mention de droit d’auteur ci-dessus figure sur toutes les copies; 2) les renseignements soient utilisés uniquement à des fins informatives et non commerciales, ou personnelles; 3) les renseignements ne soient aucunement modifiés; et 4) aucun élément graphique disponible sur le présent site Web ne soit utilisé sans le texte qui l’accompagne.

EXCLUSION DE RESPONSABILITÉ

Vous utilisez le présent site Web à vos propres risques. En aucun cas Emergent, ni ses dirigeants, administrateurs ou employés, ni ses fournisseurs, ni les parties contribuant au présent site Web ne peuvent être tenus responsables de dommages de toute nature, y compris les dommages directs ou indirects, les préjudices particuliers, les dommages punitifs, exemplaires, accessoires, moraux ou consécutifs, la perte de bénéfices, le manque à gagner ou la perte de renseignements, les dommages pour perte d’exploitation, perte de programmes ou de données dans votre système de traitement de l’information, et les autres dépenses découlant du présent site Web ou en relation avec celui-ci, des algorithmes logiciels qu’il contient ou d’un autre site Web qui y serait associé par hyperlien, ou de leur utilisation ou de l’incapacité de les utiliser en raison d’une interruption, d’une défectuosité, d’un délai de traitement ou de transmission, ou de la présence d’un virus, d’un ver ou d’un cheval de Troie informatique, ou d’autres éléments destructeurs, ou d’une panne de courant ou de système, et ce, qu’Emergent soit informé ou non de la possibilité de tels dommages, pertes ou dépenses. Les algorithmes logiciels et les hyperliens vers d’autres ressources en ligne sont mis à votre disposition à vos risques. Emergent n’analyse, ne vérifie, ne contrôle, ni n’approuve le contenu desdits algorithmes et ressources, ni leur exactitude, ni les opinions qui y sont exprimées, ni les autres hyperliens qui y sont fournis. POUR PLUS DE CERTITUDE, LA PRÉSENTE EXCLUSION DE RESPONSABILITÉ S’APPLIQUE À TOUTE NÉGLIGENCE COMMISE PAR EMERGENT OU UN DE SES ADMINISTRATEURS, DIRIGEANTS OU EMPLOYÉS OU ENCORE PAR TOUT FOURNISSEUR OU TOUTE PARTIE CONTRIBUANT AU PRÉSENT SITE WEB.

Emergent veille à ce que les renseignements qu’elle diffuse sur son site Web soient aussi complets et exacts que possible au moment où elle les publie sur ledit site. Toutefois, Emergent ne donne aucune garantie en ce qui concerne ce matériel. Plus précisément, Emergent ne garantit nullement l’exactitude, la rapidité de publication, le caractère complet, la qualité marchande ou l’adéquation avec une utilisation en particulier, ni l’absence de contrefaçon d’un droit de propriété intellectuelle en ce qui a trait à l’information, aux éléments graphiques ou aux autres éléments publiés sur le présent site Web et décline toute responsabilité découlant de l’absence de mise à jour du site Web ou d’erreurs ou d’omissions dans son contenu. Certains territoires ne permettent pas l’exclusion de garanties implicites; il se peut donc que l’exclusion susmentionnée ne s’applique pas à vous.

Les renseignements présentés dans le présent site Web peuvent comprendre des inexactitudes techniques ou des erreurs typographiques. Les renseignements peuvent être modifiés ou mis à jour sans préavis. Emergent peut également améliorer ou modifier les services ou logiciels décrits sur le présent site Web en tout temps, et ce, sans préavis.

Vous acceptez d’indemniser et de dégager Emergent ainsi que ses filiales, sociétés affiliées, sous-traitants, mandataires, dirigeants, administrateurs et employés de toute responsabilité civile, criminelle ou quasi criminelle résultant du fait que vous avez utilisé le site Web, SANS ÉGARD À TOUTE NÉGLIGENCE DE LA PART D’EMERGENT, DE SES FILIALES, SOCIÉTÉS AFFILIÉES, SOUS-TRAITANTS, MANDATAIRES, DIRIGEANTS, ADMINISTRATEURS ET EMPLOYÉS QUI POURRAIT EN ÊTRE LA CAUSE OU Y AVOIR CONTRIBUÉ. Vous serez entièrement responsable de tout paiement applicable, toute obligation et toute entente conclue par Emergent, ses filiales, sociétés affiliées, sous-traitants, mandataires, dirigeants, administrateurs ou employés en vue de régler toute réclamation ou réclamation potentielle, que ce paiement ou cette entente soient faits ou qu’on en ait convenu avant ou après l’engagement de procédures formelles contre Emergent, ses filiales, sociétés affiliées, sous-traitants, mandataires, dirigeants, administrateurs ou employés.

LIENS VERS D’AUTRES SITES

Le site Web contient des hyperliens afin de vous permettre d’accéder plus facilement à des sites Web de tiers. Emergent n’exerce aucun contrôle sur les sites Web des tiers. Elle n’assume aucune responsabilité quant au contenu des sites associés à ces hyperliens ni à tout hyperlien compris dans l’un desdits sites Web. Emergent offre ces hyperliens uniquement pour rendre service aux personnes intéressées. Ce faisant, cela n’indique pas qu’Emergent approuve ni qu’elle ait analysé ou vérifié les sites associés aux hyperliens ni les renseignements qui s’y trouvent.

UTILISATEURS INTERNATIONAUX

Ce site Web est destiné exclusivement à une utilisation au Canada. Emergent ne garantit nullement que les détails présentés sur le présent site Web sont valables ailleurs qu’au Canada et, en particulier, que les produits et services disponibles ailleurs qu’au Canada auront le même aspect, seront offerts dans les mêmes formats ou seront assujettis aux mêmes conditions. Si vous accédez à ce site Web ou téléchargez du contenu depuis un emplacement à l’extérieur du Canada, veuillez noter que vous êtes responsables de vous assurer que vous agissez en conformité avec les lois locales applicables à cet emplacement.

Les produits mentionnés sur le présent site Web peuvent être offerts dans un emballage, dans des formats ou avec un lettrage ou marquage différents, selon le pays.

LOI APPLICABLE

Les lois de la province d’Ontario régissent les présentes modalités, conditions et dénégations de responsabilité, sans égard aux principes de conflits de lois. Nous nous réservons le droit de modifier en tout temps notre site Web ainsi que les présentes modalités, conditions et dénégations de responsabilité.